Annual Environmental Awards

Each year the foundation honors individuals and groups to highlight their contributions to the region. The Distinguished Service Award is given for outstanding life-long accomplishments in the area of natural resource preservation, conservation or development. Certificates of Appreciation are awarded to recognize significant environmental programs and projects. Nominations are typically due mid-September and the awardees are honored at the Annual Meeting in November.

The focus areas include:

Preservation: work to protect ecosystems, species, and other irreplaceable elements of the world’s natural heritage.
Conservation: work to minimize our use of finite natural resources and our negative impacts on ecosystems and communities.
Restoration: work to re-establish the healthy functions of an ecosystem or parts of ecosystems.
Education: work to foster a stronger awareness and understanding of environmental and sustainability issues.

Past recipients:
2016: Distinguished Service Award – Thomas ODell; Certificates of Appreciation – Connecticut Water Company; Connecticut River Expeditions/RiverQuest
2015: Distinguished Service Award – Sue Merrow; Certificates of Appreciation – Common Goods Garden; Food for All Garden; Long Lane Farm
2015: In honor of Rockfall Foundation’s 80th Year – David Bingham, Eric Hammerling, Amy Blaymore Paterson
2014: Distinguished Service Award – Alliance for Sound area Planning (ASaP); Certificates of Appreciation – Jim and Sara Keaney, Suellen McCuin, Belinda Murano
2013: Distinguished Service Award – Marcie Klattenburg; Certificate of Appreciation – Chris Zurcher
2011: Distinguished Service Award – Karl Wagner; Certificates of Appreciation – Margo Burns, Ken Kruse

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search